phpBB

Development Wiki

Deleting Private Messages

From phpBB Development Wiki

When a user is removed from the database, we clean up the private messages the user sent and received

Received PMs

PMs received in Inbox / Hold

3.0

Links of user to PMs are deleted, if there is no further entry in the privmsgs_to table, the pm itself is also deleted.

Desired

Links of user to PMs are deleted, if there is no further entry in the privmsgs_to table, the pm itself is also deleted.

PMs received in No Box

User received the PM, but the PM is only moved to the inbox (or hold, if inbox is full) when the user visits the inbox.

3.0

Links of user to PMs are deleted, if there is no further entry in the privmsgs_to table, the pm itself is also deleted.

Desired

Links of user to PMs are deleted, if there is no further entry in the privmsgs_to table, the pm itself is also deleted.


Sent PMs

PMs sent to Inbox / Hold

3.0

Links of sender to PMs are deleted, if there is no further entry in the privmsgs_to table, the pm itself is also deleted.

Desired

Links of sender to PMs are deleted, if there is no further entry in the privmsgs_to table, the pm itself is also deleted.

PMs sent to No Box

3.0

Links of sender and receivers to PMs are deleted and the entry in the privmsgs_to table is also deleted.

Desired

Links of sender and receivers to PMs are deleted and the entry in the privmsgs_to table is also deleted.


Sent PMs to multiple Users

Same Box

If the PMs are all in the same box for all users, the desired and current behaviour is the same as in Sent PMs

In different Boxes

3.0

If there is one user, that has the PM in "No Box", the links of sender and "No Box"-receivers to PMs are deleted and the entry in the privmsgs_to table is also deleted. This also applies if another user already read the message, which is considered a bug.

3.0.11 / Desired

Links of sender to PMs are deleted, everything else is kept.